Private nursery in Barnet

What is the Early Years Foundation Stage?

In brief the Early Years Foundation Stage (EYFS), is the combination of care and education standards for Early Years Setting. The years from birth to five are deemed crucial in forming the foundation for all future learning, and developing relationships with others.

The care standards known as the welfare requirements are our legal obligations to maintain high standards of care both through our interactions, policies and the nursery environment.

The educational element (curriculum) are the learning and development requirements. These we follow for all age groups and are used as an aid to planning for different stages of development.

Learning and Development

Within the curriculum there are seven areas of learning:

  • Personal, Social and Emotional Development
  • Physical Development
  • Communication and Language
  • Literacy
  • Mathematics
  • Understanding the World
  • Expressive Arts and Design

On a weekly basis we plan using these areas of learning and provide activities to help the children develop skills and knowledge within them.

Throughout the week we observe the children (using the areas of learning) as a way of informal assessment, the knowledge gained from this is then used to form the basis of future planning, this ensures we are following the children’s interests and are also offering support or extension in any areas required.